Cornelius Reveals 'Dream In Dream' LP


“Cornelius makes some of the coolest music in the world, a cosmopolitan bricolage of Japanese pop music that is neither J-pop or Western Top 40 — just a long drag and exhale of plunderphonic neon-psychedelia that sounds like nothing else.”


“Sleek slice of sophistipop”

– Brooklyn Vegan

“Chilled out and supremely pretty.”

– Stereogum

“Bossa nova, math-rock, gentle vocals, drums hitting offbeats and increasingly raucous guitars.. ingenious Japanese indie-rocker.”

– New York Times

“Retro-futuristic… Keigo Oyamada continues to be some kind of genius, though happily still undecided about which kind.”

– Pitchfork

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Tokyo, Japan, June 7, 2023) – Cornelius, the genre-defying producer and multi-instrumentalist, unveils his highly anticipated seventh studio album, ‘Dream in Dream,’ along with the album art and track listing. Set to be released on June 28, 2023, via Warner Music Japan, this marks his first full-length album since the critically acclaimed ‘Mellow Waves’ in 2017. To give fans a taste of what’s to come, Cornelius also presents his new single “All Things Must Pass.”  The track immerses the listener in a spellbinding drone tapestry, where the guitars serenade in aching waves, richly imbued with sorrowful beauty.

The release of “All Things Must Pass” follows the success of the album’s second single Sparks” This slice of sophista-indie pop, is accompanied by the video directed by Cornelius’s frequent collaborator Koichiro Tsujikawa that showcases the artist’s continued ability to create mesmerizing visual experiences. The single is available on 7″ vinyl, featuring the B-side “Quantum Ghosts.”

Earlier this year, ‘Dream in Dream’ unveiled its lead single, “Change and Vanish”, ” which was met with critical acclaim. The album version of the track, originally sung by Cornelius, was later reimagined with a captivating rendition by Japanese vocalist Mei Ehara and remixed by the talented John Carroll Kirby.

With ‘Dream in Dream,’ Cornelius expands his sonic universe, incorporating angular guitars and lush synthesizer interplay that dance around syncopated drums throughout the album. Each song is an intricately woven tapestry of lushly orchestrated rolling harmonies, propelled by vibrant bursts of organic electronic synths that transport listeners into a trippy, multi-colorful sonic landscape.

Notable tracks such as ‘Night Heron’ take listeners to the golden era of the ’70s, effortlessly capturing the essence of celestial soundscapes while infusing them with a pulsating, minimalist funk. The composer’s mastery shines through as he expertly weaves R&B influences into the track, creating a groove-laden sonic experience that is both timeless and irresistibly funky.

The album also features thrilling bursts of the theremin, adding an exhilarating element to compositions like “8 Drifts.” With its breezy and sun-drenched ambiance, ‘Dream in Dream’ seamlessly merges elements of avant-garde jazz, soulful R&B, and psychedelic acoustic electronics, resulting in a genre-blending masterpiece that pushes the boundaries of musical innovation.

The versatility of ‘Dream in Dream’ is apparent, making it a soundtrack that transcends boundaries and resonates with music fans across all genres. Cornelius once again demonstrates his unparalleled talent as a producer, composer, and visionary artist.

Keigo Oyamada, wrote the lyrics for all tracks on the album, with the exception of “Change and Vanish” for which Shintaro Sakamoto wrote the lyrics.

‘Dream in Dream’ will be available on all major streaming platforms and in physical formats starting June 28, 2023

Track list: 1. Change and Vanish 2. Sparks 3. TOO PURE 4. Out of Time 5. Environmental 6.NIGHT HERON 7. Mirage 8. DRIFTS 9. Dream in the Mist 10. All Things Must Pass

Cornelius On Tour

6/16 – Melbourne, AU – RISING Festival

6/17 – Sydney, AU – VIVID Festival

8/17 – Tokyo, JP  – Liquid Room

8/19 – Tokyo, JP – Summer Sonic Tokyo

8/20 – Osaka, JP – Summer Sonic Osaka

Cornelius made his name in the 90s with the cult album Fantasma (1997) released on Matador Records which mixed the 60s harmonies of The Beach Boys with krautrock and French pop, and a late-90’s sample heavy production reminiscent of Paul’s Boutique. He has since released Point (2002), Sensuous (2008) and most recently Mellow Waves (2017). Also known as a world class remixer, he has lent his talents to such artists as Blur, Beck, MGMT, Sting, and James Brown, as well as playing guitar in a re-formed Yellow Magic Orchestra, and recording and performing as a member of Yoko Ono’s Plastic Ono Band, and more. His release Sensurround + B Sides was nominated for the 2009 Grammy Award for “Best Surround Sound Album”. Recently he contributed his cover of “Thatness and Thereness” to the album A TRIBUTE TO RYUICHI SAKAMOTO – TO THE MOON AND BACK.

Follow Cornelius:

Website | Instagram |  Twitter | YouTube | Facebook

About Cornelius:

Cornelius is the brainchild of Japanese multi-instrumentalist Keigo Oyamada.  Performing musician since his teens, Oyamada created his creative alter-ego (the name is an homage to the Planet of the Apes), in the early 1990’s from the ashes of his previous project, Flipper’s Guitar. With the 1997 release of Fantasma, Cornelius gained international recognition for his cut and paste style reminiscent of American counterparts Beck and The Beastie Boys and was released internationally by Matador Records.  Being called a “modern day Brian Wilson” for his orchestral-style arrangements and production techniques, Cornelius subsequently became one of the most sought after producer/remixers in the world, working with artists ranging from Blur, Beck Bloc Party, and MGMT, to James Brown.

Damn Hipster

The best music selected by a damn hipster.

Loopcloud Music App from